Follow Fluxus 2013 /

Annette Krauss

The scholarship Follow Fluxus – After Fluxus, awarded by the state capital Wiesbaden and the Nassauischer Kunstverein Wiesbaden for the sixth time in consequence, was granted this year to the artist Annette Krauss (*1971, Rothenburg o. d. Tauber, Germany).
The scholarship was initiated 2008 with the objective to promote international young artists following and further developing the concept of the art movement Fluxus in their work. Apart from a prize money of 10.000 €, the scholarship includes a three-month working visit to the Hessian state capital (June to August 2013), a solo exhibition in the Kunstverein (September 2012 to May 2013) as well as a publication.
The 2013 jury of five consisted of Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev curator and artistic director of dOCUMENTA (13), Dr. Ralf Beil, director of Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt, Michael Berger, Fluxus collector and patron, Wiesbaden, Dr. Isolde Schmidt, cultural office Wiesbaden, and Elke Gruhn, artistic director, Nassauischer Kunstverein Wiesbaden and made an unison decision from 33 nominations. Annette Krauss was proposed by Charles Esche, director of Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven. The jury explained its choice:
“The inbetween-spaces and paradoxes in everyday life, as well as her curiosity on human interaction and celebration of the common places, are consistent in Annette Krauss work. Her art is based more on withdrawal from productivity than addition, with her deliberate ‘Unlearning’, she discovers for us and herself something new. Annette Krauss practices art as research and joyful science."